The Film Fare awards- One of the most prestigious and oldest

The FilmFare awards are one of the most prestigious and oldest awards in the popular Hindi-language film industry. It is the first awards announced for the popular Hindi-language film industry and started in 1954. Let us know the history of this popular award a little bit which enriches our experience to a greater level. This prestigious award was introduced by The Times Group in the same year as the National film awards. Under their system voting was done by the public and expert committee. This ceremony was sponsored by various private companies in the past and present as well. During the years in the 1990s, the ceremony was used to be telecasted live however now was discontinued later on. Since the 2000s a revised and edited version of the ceremony was shown in the channel SET and from 2019 in is being shown in the COLORS channel.

Now the famous “Black lady” of the FilmFare ceremony has her own history. It was initially made of bronze and on the 25th year was of silver and in the 50th year was made of gold. It weighs around 5 kg and its height is 46.5 cm.


THE 65th AMAZON Filmfare award took place in Awesome Assam on 15th February 2020. The event was sponsored by Joy beautiful by Nature, Shyam Steel, Vimal Elaichi, Bikaji and Gaurs Group. The glittering show started with the hosts Vicky Kaushal and Karan Zohar with Varun Dhawan joining later on.

By giving a brief history of the film making the background of Assam the event kicked off with a performance by Ranveer Singh acknowledging the 25th year of R D Burman award. Performances by Varun Dhawan, Akshay Kumar, and Madhuri Dixit came later set the stage on fire by their god gifted entertaining ability. Vicky Kaushal, Kartik Aryan, and Ayusmann Khurrana presented a spectacular show individually.

The list of the winners goes on like this:

Best Film
Gully Boy
Best Director
Zoya Akhtar (Gully Boy)

Best Film (Critics)
Article 15 (Anubhav Sinha)
Sonchiriya (Abhishek Chaubey)

Best Actor in A Leading Role (Male)
Ranveer Singh (Gully Boy)

Best Actor (Critics)
Ayushmann Khurrana (Article 15)

Best Actor In A Leading Role (Female)
Alia Bhatt (Gully Boy)

Best Actress (Critics)
Bhumi Pednekar (Saand Ki Aankh)
Taapsee (Saand Ki Aankh)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female)
Amruta Subhash (Gully Boy)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Male)
Siddhant Chaturvedi (Gully Boy)

Best Music Album
Gully Boy l Zoya Akhtar-Ankur Tewari
Kabir Singh I Mithoon, Amaal Mallik, Vishal Mishra, Sachet–Parampara and Akhil Sachdeva

Best Lyrics
Divine and Ankur Tewari – Apna Time Aayega – Gully Boy

Best Playback Singer (Male)
Arijit Singh…Kalank Nahi…- Kalank

Best Playback Singer (Female)
Shilpa Rao…Ghungroo… – War

Best Debut Director
Aditya Dhar – Uri: The Surgical Strike
Best Debut Actor
Abhimanyu Dassani – Mard Ko Dard Nahi Hota

Best Debut Actress
Ananya Pandey – Student Of The Year 2, Pati Patni Aur Woh

Best Original Story
Article 15 – Anubhav Sinha and Gaurav Solanki

Best Screenplay
Gully Boy – Reema Kagti and Zoya Akhtar

Best Dialogue
Gully Boy – Vijay Maurya

Lifetime Achievement Award
Ramesh Sippy

Excellence In Cinema

RD Burman Award for Upcoming Music Talent
Sashwat Sachdev- URI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »